GiveMeSport exclusive: Ian Holloway in awe of José Campaña’s tactical prowess

Holloway is excited to work with Campaña. (©GettyImages)

Crystal Palace manager Ian Holloway believes new signing José Campaña’s tactical knowledge is far greater than many other players he has worked with in the past.

 

The 20-year-old midfielder signed for the south London side in a £1.7million move last week but he was absent from the Palace squad that beat Dagenham on Saturday, as the club awaits international clearance for him.

 

The Spanish Under-20 captain, who joined the Eagles on a four-year deal from Sevilla, had attracted interest from a number of clubs around Europe after a string of impressive performances at the Under-20 World Cup in Turkey this summer, but Holloway was able to land the talented youngster for a bargain fee.

 

“He is a young man who knows how to play and how to pass the ball,” Holloway told GiveMeSport, following his side’s 2-1 win at the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham stadium.

 

“The knowledge he’s got – I want to try and impart on my young lads as they are growing up.

 

“Spain are getting it right. The young teams that they have got can change shape two or three times and they understand it.

 

“As a coach I’m quite embarrassed how much he knows and how little some of my players in the past have known.”

 

In what was seen as a huge coup for the club, Holloway underlined the reasons how he managed to capture the Spaniard and what he believes he can do to help him settle in.

 

“I know some very good people who like the way I try and play and the way I encourage their young players particularly –  to be a better person first and then a better player second.

 

“All we’ve got to do is make him settle in very quickly. But I’m sure once I start working out on the grass with him then he’ll start feeling so at home.”

 

The former Sevilla youngster does not speak English – but Holloway has insisted there will be no problem in conveying his tactics across to him.

 

“I’ve already shown him some sign language with my fingers, because I can place things, and he just knows it already,” added Holloway.

 

“Wherever you put him he knows his job, he’s so mentally right, and I haven’t seen him not smile yet – it’s just quite unbelievable.”

This can also be found on: http://www.givemesport.com/361986-ian-holloway-in-awe-of-jose-campanas-tactical-prowess

 

Leave a comment